NEET PG (Postgraduate)

The National Eligibility cum Entrance Test (Postgraduate) is a qualifying and ranking examination in India, for students who wish to study various postgraduate Doctor of Medicine, Master of Surgery and diploma courses, in government or private medical colleges in the country

  1. Full exam name: National Eligibility cum Entrance Test postgraduate (NEET PG)
  2. Year started: 2013
  3. Administered by: National Board of Examinations
  4. Language: English
  5. Duration: 210 minutes
  6. Purpose: Admission to postgraduate and diploma courses in government and private colleges in India
  7. Offered: Once a year

Eligibility criteria

Candidates studying in India, having Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS) degree or provisional MBBS pass certificate as per Indian Medical Council Act, and MBBS registration certificate issued by the Indian or state medical council and have completed one year of internship or will be completing the internship, are eligible to apply for the exam.

The candidates having Indian citizenship, but have graduated from any foreign medical college, should qualify the Medical Council of India Screening Test (also called Foreign Medical Graduate Examination). They also need to be registered with Indian or state medical council and have completed one year of internship or will be completing the internship.

For foreign nationals, registration is necessary from the country they have obtained basic medical qualification. Medical Council of India (MCI) registration is not compulsory. Temporary registration might be given on payment of application fees.

Exam pattern and structure

The examination is computer based, consisting of 200 MCQs multiple choice questions (MCQ) with single response. The language is English only. It is held in 162 test centres across India.[1]: 26  For each correct response, four marks are allotted and for each wrong response one mark (25 percent) is deducted. No marks awarded or deducted for an unattempted question. There is an option to mark questions for review whether attempted or unattempted, to check them until the exam ends. Time allotted is 3.5 hours (210 minutes)


The syllabus comprises subjects prescribed by the Graduate Medical Education Regulations issued by Medical Council of India. It includes anatomy, physiology, biochemistry, pathology, pharmacology, microbiology, forensic medicine, social and preventive medicine, general medicine, general surgery, obstetrics and gynaecology, paediatrics, otorhinolaryngology and ophthalmology , Dermatology , Anesthesiology , Radiology , Psychiatry , Orthopaedics


Cutoff and Results

The cutoff marks in the exam is divided into four categories based on the groups of people and castes in India. Cutoffs were reduced in 2020. For General candidates it is 30th percentile, for general but PWD candidates it is a25th percentile, for both SC/ST/OBC and PWD under SC/ST/OBC, it is 20th percentile.

The results of the exam is valid for current admission session, i.e. one year. It can not be carried forward for the next session.



Scroll to Top